Gratitude is better than Pride

Recently there was an event to celebrate an accomplishment of my son. I was asked if I was ‘proud’ of him and I gave the stock answer to a rhetorical question. In reality I should have described how I truly felt about the occasion but I simply was not in a quixotic mood at that particular time. The real emotion I felt was gratitude. I felt grateful that my life intertwined with his to an extent that he not only wanted me there when he was recognized, but also wanted me to participate because I had accomplished the feat “O so many years ago” now.

Too often pride is a reflexive action in that in being proud of something one inevitably becomes proud of his role in creating the event or person and self-pride has never been a especially good path for this author. It seems to me, that the best course is to be grateful. I am grateful for my wife, my son, and my daughters, and so many other things. The fact that all of these things are part of my existence simply means that I have been blessed and graced, not that I experience them through any merit of my own. I am grateful that I have lived long enough to realize this.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

