A Dream Still Partially Deferred?

” I have a dream…that one day my children will be judged for the content of their character and not the color of their skin.” My apologies to Dr. King if the quote is not quite right but I think I understand the hope he expressed for his children 45 years ago. On the other hand, Langston Hughes wrote about a dream deferred in far different terms. As a nation we have journeyed a long ways since the 1960s but a person I worked with expressed to me fear about the results of Barrack Obama’s history making nomination 45 years to the day after Dr. King’s speech. She said she was voting for McCain (no surprise to me since this Congressional district hasn’t gone for a Democrat in a presidential election since 1964) but she feared for the results if ‘Obama lost’. I asked why and she said ‘I am afraid of riots. Black people don’t handle it very well when they don’t get what they want.’ Langston might say, at least in this instance, that Dr. King’s dream is still ‘deferred’ at least in some places. He might also refer us to another poem of his and suggest we ‘keep on climbin’.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

