Love is Patient, Love is Kind

“Love is patient, love is kind…..” How many times have those words been read, especially at weddings in the last 2,000 years or so? I myself read them at my daughter’s wedding less than a year ago but I was not thinking of the young couple at the time and I doubt that they were thinking of me or the words! Rather I was gazing at my wife of almost 29 years now and thinking of the countless number of times she has been patient and kind to me. This morning I was given the chance to be patient and kind as I set aside my morning routine and listened to some concerns she has about a difficult situation. I have heard it said that the first language of God is silence. Sometimes the best way to be patient and kind is to be silent and just listen. Such an opportunity is truly a moment of grace that should be grasped gently but firmly.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

