First Star to the Right

In a life lived so long ago it’s almost forgotten I was a pilot. I had dreamed of flying helicopters from the time I was a small boy and for 4 years the dream was a reality. I loved flying more than almost anything in the world. The fact that it was ‘almost’ explains why I chose another path 24 years ago when I quit being a pilot, but that is another story. From time to time I still dream of flying much as Santiago dreamed of lions and maybe for the same reasons. I have come to understand that when I fly again in my sleep it is a sign I am stressed and longing for freedom from one burden or another and in a strange way the dream sets me free. It makes me pause to examine my life for things that might be of concern. Just recognizing and facing my burdens is a liberation and that completes my childhood dream again.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

