Return of the Prodigal…..Sort Of

A little over 5 years ago my life changed radically and permanently. My youngest child, barely age 14, walked out of my house for reasons I am not sure either of us understand or will ever understand. The results over the next four years included more emotional pain than I could have ever imagined made even worse by watching the pain my wife and the departed child endured without being able to do anything about it. The emotional pain inevitably resulted in medical issues for all of us. Over the past year or so there have been attempts made to heal some wounds but it is neither comfortable nor easy, especially with the knowledge that the time lost cannot be regained and the pain cannot be erased. Recently however, the beloved child in question closed a phone conversation by saying “I love you” to me, unsolicited and unforced. I could not remember the last time that had happened but it was a reminder to me that sometimes ‘good enough’ has to be and is ‘good enough’ at least for now.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Religion/Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Return of the Prodigal…..Sort Of

  1. jackmertz says:

    Ed,
    I have enjoyed your blogging. Our prodigal seems to be doing fine and is getting back into the flow of things.
    Have you finished your Franciscan studies yet?
    You would be proud, I have already started the reading for our first course next month,
    jack

Leave a Reply

