I Don’t Like You…Or Me?

Lately I have been called upon to work with three different people and had a negative reaction all three times. Two of the people are part of my professional life and one is associated with a growing interest of mine in becoming a lay minister for my church. I was surprised at the negative reaction I had in each case and I could not begin the work until I spent some time reflecting on each situation. In a little while I realized I didn’t like these people! That disturbed me even more and I had to do some more thinking. What didn’t I like about them?  One talked far too much, especially about himself. Another had so much energy and certainty about just about everything she would make a cup of coffee nervous. The third could be a ray of sunshine or just plain ‘snotty’ and you never know which it would be. Then I realized that what I didn’t like in them was what I didn’t like in me. Pogo said it best, ‘we have met the enemy and he is us’ a long time ago but it is something worth keeping in mind. Since I like me, in spite of my faults, I think I can  now like them too, especially since they are just like me.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

