A Title by Any Other Name…

With the end of the electoral season fast approaching I sense opportunity. I am going to establish the ‘Montgomery Group” and become a ‘senior adviser’. Depending on who wins I’ll go on one network and explain why a candidate lost, or go on another network and explain why a candidate won. If I am lucky, the candidate I support will lose because it seems like the most visible talking heads on the news shows helped run losing campaigns; I suppose if they had run winning campaigns they would still be employed and hence, unavailable for appearances. I am ‘senior’, I have ‘gravitas’, and I can blame others as well as anybody, perhaps better.

I think I will get the whole family involved. My journalist daughter can be a ‘communications expert’ perhaps ‘communications director’ because that sounds tonier and she has been directing my comments for years so it wouldn’t be a stretch. My son-in-law, a political science major, could be a ‘senior POLITICAL analyst’ thus adding another word to his title. My son could be a ‘senior defense analyst’ since he’s on active duty in the military. He’s not that senior, but whoever saw a ‘junior analyst’ on any Sunday morning show? My youngest daughter could be a ‘domestic policy adviser’ because she is going into social work and my current exchange student could be a ‘foreign policy adviser’ since she has actually been in other countries as well as seeing them from her house and she speaks more than one language.

In a few years, I’ll turn the whole outfit over to my son-in-law because with his name we could be the “Moore-Montgomery Group” adding a subliminal signal that even more of us could only be better. We could all then write ‘tell-all’ books trashing both sides of any political debate because negativity sells and we’d double our market share with careful planning. Why haven’t I mentioned my wife? She is a ‘senior educational adviser’ in the area of junior high English so she’s too busy doing something that actually matters.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Title by Any Other Name…

  1. jackmertz says:

    If you have a grandson and he is named Abraham Lot, then in a few years you could have A.Lot-Moore-Montgomery Group.

    Funny Blog!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

