The Best Gift….

My previous post provoked a response from a very dear friend in a phone call to check up on me because ‘it sounded a little depressing’. After rereading it I can see why she thought so and maybe I should explain a little further.

I know myself well enough by now to know that my life has its ups and downs, its highs and lows, and so do I.  Having never understood or trusted what exactly is meant by ‘happy’ I nevertheless am happy with myself and my life. The best definition of happiness that I have ever heard is “a general feeling that things are as they should be” and that is where I usually find myself so I could be described as ‘happy’ although I’d prefer ‘content’. I understand that life, and especially my life, will have trials and tribulations complete with triumphs and tragedies and I am confident that I will be able to hold onto the hope and promises I described earlier. To reassure my concerned caller let me add part of a letter I wrote recently:

Carolyn and I know we are blessed by having good jobs and a home in these uncertain times but are most thankful for the blessings we have in our family and friends. We have three children who have never done it the ‘easy’ way but have almost always done it the ‘right’ way, even if it was harder. We have a delightful son-in-law. We have been able to parent, in a little different way, three exchange students and we have decent honorable people who call themselves our friends. Who could, or should, ask for anything more?”

My concerned call was from one of those “decent, honorable people”  which simply proves my point.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

