Hindsight and Foresight….

Hindsight, in my life anyway, has usually resulted in reflections about the many ways I have made an ass out of myself after following  impulses that were headed down the wrong path. Do you suppose that’s why they called it ‘hind”; maybe a form of  ‘hiney’? Anyway, I digress.

Yesterday I made a lifetime profession in the Secular Franciscan Order, literally ‘in front of God and everybody’, at least the bodies at 9:00 Mass. I promised to do the very best I can to live the life all of us say we want to live. It was a solemn, yet joyful occasion. Some of my friends think that this makes me a priest (it doesn’t, thank the Lord), and some are just unsure about what happened and why, but they support whatever it was I did and am doing. I have to admit it was just a bit frightening to stand up in front of the altar making my promises but in hindsight maybe I had good foresight 28 months ago when I decided this was an impulse to follow: more likely some higher power had the foresight to kick my hindsight into a path I was meant to be following.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Religion/Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

