You are Young for This, But….

There are certain words you never really want to hear.

Got a minute?” Usually followed by a very long, often negative, one sided conversation.

No real problem, but..” This comment often precedes something that will be a very big problem indeed.

Hold on! I can beat the train to the crossing!” I think this one is self-explanatory.

Who’s ever going to find out?” Everyone of course, and far sooner than you would have ever believed possible.

“Sit down for a minute.” Sometimes precedes a conversation detailing an approximation of how many minutes you have left in a relationship, your job, or perhaps even your life.

And finally, but not exclusively, one of my least favorite things to hear from a doctor, “You are really young for this but…. fill in the blank with something painful and expensive.

After my first (certainly not my last) knee x-ray ever I discovered the following:

1. At some point in time I at the least,  partially tore the medial collateral ligament in my left knee.

2. At the same point in time I “completely tore’ the patellar tendon in the same knee.

You think I might have noticed those events at the time, but evidently not. Since then I have ran, skied, and biked thousands of miles, including a marathon, a hundred mile bike ride, etc. I have walked the floor with three children (started getting carried away there but you get the point.) I successfully did my part in defending America from the ‘godless communists’ and a few other hostile people I had never met socially, but now, although “you are young for it” I am looking forward to having the knee God gave me replaced with some shiny titanium.

I didn’t share my bad news with the doctor because he looked too young to hear it but he was looking at my GOOD knee! I can only suppose the other one is also old in spite of being so young.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

