On the Wagon….

In my office I have a small cooler like you would see in a concession stand. Because it was donated by the local Coca-Cola bottler many years ago, it not surprisingly has the Coke log prominently displayed on the front and sides. Inside are cans of deliciously cold Diet Coke, and this is a problem for me.

My beloved wife says I have a drinking problem. Problem, what problem? I can control it, I am in charge of my destiny! Granted, a six pack or so a day might be a lot for another man, but I can handle it! But she persisted.

This is day four on the wagon: I quit ‘cold turkey’ just out of sheer cussed determination to show I could do it. Tapering off, cutting down or other halfway measures are for wimps and probably not effective; first you drink one and then you are on the slippery slope and headed to the store for more.

So this is day four of the “Diet Coke Hostage Crisis”. Dan Rather will not cover it as he did the hostage crisis in Iran, but it was a bit more serious and well-publicized and I understand the difference in degree. Nevertheless, I need your moral support. I wonder if Diet Pepsi is included in my vow?

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

