A Dog’s Prayer….

Black, bold, and beautiful in her own way. I am describing the Scottish terrier who agreed to live with us starting last summer. Less than two years old she provided instant contrast to my aging and beloved golden retriever Dolly.lake-oliversept2008-005

Dolly is mellow, very mellow. She might wake up if a burglar broke in but it would only be to see if he mght pet her or allow her to carry his flashlight. Dolly has been know to fall asleep while sitting rather than miss a chance for affection. She has gently loved me for over 9 years now.

Maggie’s breed, on the other hand,  has been described as ‘indomitable, fearless, die-hard’ and she is faithful to her breed. As Mr. T might have said ‘I pity the fool’ who thinks he can come onto her turf without notice. She barks early, and she barks often at any potential intrusion and yet she has her gentle side too. Maggie almost always demands some affection in the morning and she looks a little silly when she assumes the submissive pose that a good ‘tummy rub’ demands. Once outside though, she is back to business.img000071

This morning when I left my dogs one was asleep in the late winter sunshine in the kennel while the other was barking vigorously at anything that moved. Guess which was which? Evidently Dolly not only has trust in me, but trust in her little friend that allows her to sleep without fear of interruption. Maggie on the other hand, spends her day safe in the knowledge that every car or truck she has ever warned off has prudently kept going, and I am sure this fills her with self-esteem.

There have been millions of syrupy paens written about dogs over the centuries and I suppose this post is another in the genre, and yet,  dogs are special creatures who seem designed to fill a spot in this man’s soul. I pray that I am half the man they think I am and I am thankful that creatures exist who jump up and down and wag their tails and listen to my tales each day when I come home, something no other creature is willing to do.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment