A New Horse….

Like many middle aged men of a slightly ‘robust’ build I yearn for the days when I could do a bit more physically. I have run a marathon, completed triathlons, one hundred mile bike rides, parachuted, snow skied, water skied, sailed, etc. Once upon a time I was a ‘lean mean fighting machine known as a U.S. Marine” in the words of my drill instructor. Now I am not so lean, and as far as fighting goes, I could probably be taken by a small dog with an attitude.Kayak day 2 025

Nevertheless, I finally accomplished my dream of having a sea kayak, despite the fact that the nearest sea is probably at least a thousand miles from here. I do have a local lake which is plenty big enough for me to play on, but shallow enough that motorboats (known as ‘stinkpots’ to us kayakers in the know) avoid it.

My kayak reminds me that it does not take a lot of strength to go somewhere if you are not in a hurry and that a pot belly only means I have to pull a bit harder without necessarily risking a heart attack that might occur if my knees allowed me to run again. Being 17 feet long and only 22 inches wide, it slips through the water quietly and easily.

“Quietly”  is a nice thing. Some fool advertiser has an ad showing how to take your Ipod out in a waterproof case in your kayak. While I love music, the idea of gliding through a quiet lake watching waterfowl while listening to Motley Crue or the like bothers me on several levels.

I can still snow ski; just not as hard or as long, but now I have something to play with at other times of the year and it was worth the wait.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Horse….

  1. bradybakes says:

    I know this doesn’t have a lot to do with your blog, but I just thought I would say thanks for showing me this thing. I didn’t think I would use it very much, but after about a month off, I came back and wrote three in a day. Just wanted to say thanks, and feel free to read mine, if you want to.

    • Edward says:

      No, thank you! My life is full of blessings and the students I work with are among the greatest blessings anyone could ask for.

Leave a Reply

