Coming Home…

The wonderful world of public education has some strange notions.  Among these oddities is the idea that a male teacher should, sooner or later, ‘move UP’ into administration because these positions pay more, have more, power, etc. I followed such a path several years ago.

Another strange idea is that you can ‘never go back’ to the classroom because such a trip would not only mean a pay cut, but would also signify something unmanly in not caring about power, authority, etc.

I have been to the “mountaintop” and had my own office, where I could avoid teachers and students alike, to do ‘more important things’. I found it to be rather cold, barren, and windy… very windy.

Now I have come home.  I have three classes of freshmen who need a little instruction in English and a little bit more instruction in what it means to be a responsible adult, nothing unusual there and well-worth my time. They  are a blessing to me.

I also have three classes of juniors taking English 11, aka ‘American Lit’ thus combining my favorite area in literature with my favorite age group. Their presence in my class this week convinces me of the presence of grace in the world.

I am in the sweet position of being a first year teacher with twenty-four years of experience in education.  I also have the pleasure of proving that you can, indeed, ‘go home again’.

Yes, yes, I know, cynics may point out that it’s only the first week of school and let’s see how long this lasts. Well, any house needs work from time to time to make it livable, but not every house is a home. My office was a ‘very, very fine house’ but my classroom is a home.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Home…

  1. Edward says:

    Note to any readers: It is November 20th and I still feel this way!

Leave a Reply

