Smartboard? Smart Teacher?

A few days ago I received a little toy for my classroom and there is it is before me, six and one-half feet of ‘smartboard’, a Promethean smartboard to be exact.  Classicists will no doubt remember that Prometheus brought fire (read ‘knowledge’) to humankind.  He was also thoroughly punished for it as I recall.

The educational world being what it is I am amused at the decision process that delivered the new toy to my playground.  Was I the most ‘tech-savvy’? N-o-o-0.  Was I perhaps one of the ‘best teachers’? Don’t think so. Was it maybe because I was a favorite of the ‘powers that be’? God prevent such a thing!

I received a smartboard for no other reason than that it fit into my classroom.  Yep, ‘no other place to put it, so you get it’ I was told.  Now I am the envy of the teachers who did not have the right fitting rooms, and the delight of the students who now have a whole new reason for asking ‘can we write on your board?’ 

If the truth be known, the board is no different from a piece of chalk, albeit more fun and less dusty.  It is a tool that neither makes me a better teacher, nor a worse.  If it improves my teaching somehow, it will be worth it I suppose.  At the worst, it is a great way to watch movies with a killer speaker system!

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

