Growing Hopefully….Hopefully Growing?

Recently my wife and I experienced one of those wonderful moments in parenthood known as ‘an incident’.  The incident was complicated by the fact that it concerned a child not ours by birth, but nevertheless ours by choice and definitely one we are responsible for in terms of safety and well-being among other things.

The incident was not nearly as interesting as my wife’s comment to me “ YOU WOULD HAVE NEVER ACTED THAT WAY WITH ONE OF OUR KIDS WHEN THEY WERE GROWING UP!” Her comment came to me with hints and flavors of frustration, irritation, and most of all, bewilderment.  She is exactly right, as usual.

In my defense, I am not particularly proud of how I handled some things in my parenting career, and I have no hopes that I will handle every ‘incident’ perfectly during the remainder of my parenting career.  Nevertheless, I DO have hopes that perhaps, just perhaps, I handled this one better and that I too, am ‘growing up’. As one favorite movie line of mine says, “Hope is a good thing, perhaps the best of things.” With that in mind, I’ll try to keep growing in hope, and,  hopefully, growing.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

