A Time to Lose….

I think I lost a friend.  The word ‘friend’ is a word we take far too casually in our culture.  We call everyone we know ‘friend’.  You know how it is done: ” a friend from work”, or “a friend from the gym”, etc.  In our culture we don’t seem to want to use the word ‘acquaintance’ and perhaps saying ‘someone I know from…” is simply too long. So, in our culture at least, we overuse the word ‘friend’ and, I think, undervalue what it truly means.

I know many, many, people and yet there is a very small group, perhaps numbered on one hand, whom I would call ‘friends’. I tend to make very few friends, perhaps because of the weight I put on the word, but I am fiercely loyal to the few I have.

And so I think I have lost a friend, but I think the friendship meant more to me. In that case, did I lose a friend. or just someone I thought was a friend? I do not know, but I know I wish it were otherwise.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

