For My Daughter Because She Loves Me….

After my last bit of writing I received a phone call from my oldest, as I expected.  She is the one person in the world who, to the best of my knowledge, actually reads everything I post. That is a bit frightening because I know she is a much better writer than me, and much smarter to boot.  The only thing I have on her is life experience, maybe.

She calls because she thought I sounded ‘down’ . She was right, I was. She watched her mother and I go through a particularly horrible time in our lives and was our main support system. She is very concerned about our happiness and well-being which I appreciate more than I can say.

To her I would say that my life experience teaches me this: happiness is a mostly misunderstood idea and the way people understand it means they will never have it.

The best definition I have ever heard for ‘happiness’ is that it is a feeling that, in general, things ‘are as they should be’. I look at the world around me and I do not think that things are ‘as they should be’ and I do not ever expect to feel that way about the world I live in.

I look inside though. My relationship with my Maker is ‘as it should be’. My relationship with those I care about the most is “as it should be’. I am doing the best I can in my own small way to ‘repair the world’ with the talents given me, and that is as it should be.

On my path I will have some days that are smooth, some that are rocky, and some that are in-between.  That has nothing to do with ‘happiness’ although it would just mean that I am no different from anyone else and that too is ‘as it should be’.

I look inside to see what the state of my soul is. I reflect about the difference between the man I am, and the man I could be. I check to see if I am using my gifts, such as they are, to benefit others. I am sure to have ‘bumpy’ days the rest of my life, but I am the ‘happiest’ I have ever been in my life, and I think I will be for a very long time. 

So to my daughter I would say ‘thank you’ for your caring. That means you too are using your gifts and living as you should.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

