Sunbeams and Metaphors….

I Will Lift Up Mine Eyes to the Hills

For the last four years I have been driving to a small town 65 miles away to meet with a small group for classes. We have not taken any time off so I have driven the 130 mile round trip ‘winter, summer, spring and fall’ as they say, somewhere around 70 times.  I made the trip for second-to-last time this morning and, after four years, I did not think there was much left that could surprise me about the scenery.

It was a cloudy morning and I was a bit saddened thinking that after today, and a celebratory liturgy in October, my little learning group was going to be a part of my past, not my future.  I was listening to a song by Trevor Morgan which very effectively uses the opening words from The Gospel of John. Just as he sang, “You are my light, shine in me….” shafts of sunlight broke through the clouds and touched the high plains landscape on all sides of me. I would love to say one of them hit me personally, but this is not Hollywood.

Still, I continued to listen to the song and gaze at the beauty of the light show breaking the gloom within and without. A noted atheist, Sigmund Freud, once noted that ‘there are no accidents’. I quite agree. The sunbeams lighting not only the path I had traveled, but the path before me were no accident and, somewhere not too far away, God was smiling at his gentle reminder.

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Religion/Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

