I Don’t Know What to Write About….

I don’t know how often I heard the words in the title when I was a full-time teacher. I never had any problem finding words; quite the contrary. I have trouble limiting myself because I am always ready with a response, at least I was until I retired.

I imagined that I would write all of the time about countless interesting topics but much of my writing was fueled by anger at my workplace. Admittedly, I still feel some anger towards that den of ineptness and iniquity but it is not so pressing nor so interesting to write about, why should I even bother?

They say to ‘write about what you know” , and I don’t find that helpful. I cannot bring myself to write about the most moving, or the most terrifying times of my life. I have tried but words fail to convey the horror or the sense of wonder of those times of highs and lows.

What to do?

I bought a book of writing prompts suitable (?) for use with writing students and I am going to try to write ‘on demand’ about the prompts as they appear in the book. I can already see that some of them might make for some discomfort but my reading audience is limited to the fingers (no thumbs) of one hand so I will try to take my audience into consideration as any good author should.

If I come up with any other good ideas perhaps I will write about those too…..

 

About Edward

Dishwasher, bartender, cook, house painter, movie usher, Marine helicopter pilot, teacher, administrator, teacher again, retired teacher, Secular Franciscan, Lay Ecclesial Minister- it's been an interesting ride.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

